Donate to the WILLA Fund WILLA AWARD INFOrmation

WWW will be seeking entries for the 2016 WILLA Literary Awards, honoring books published in 2015, following the October conference. The deadline for submission is February 1, 2016

To read the Guidelines for the 2016 WILLA, please go to "WILLA Guidelines and Application" in the left-side navigation bar. The entry period for the 2016 WILLA Awards is now closed.


Women Writing the West announces

2015 WILLA Literary Award Winners and Finalists

(Denver, Colorado) – Women Writing the West (WWW) is proud to announce the 2015 WILLA Literary Award competition Winners and Finalists, representing the best of 2014 published literature for women’s or girl’s stories set in the American West. WWW is the underwriter and annual presenter of this nationally recognized award.

Chosen by professional librarians, historians and university affiliated educators, the winning authors and their books were honored at the 21st Annual WWW Conference, which was held in Redmond, Oregon, October 9 - 11, 2015.

2015 WILLA Winners
WILLA Winners: Rachel Weaver, Jane Kirkpatrick, and David J. Langum Sr.

2015 WILLA Finalists
WILLA Finalists: Janet Oakley, Liza Porter, Deborah Winegarten, Patricia Ackerman and Deborah Lincoln

The 2015 honorees are listed with the designation of Winner and Finalist in each category.


WINNER: Point of Direction by Rachel Weaver (Ig Publishing)

FINALIST: Monday, Monday by Elizabeth Crook (Sarah Crichton Books/Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

FINALIST: Stars Go Blue by Laura Pritchett (Counterpoint Press)



WINNER: A Quilt For Christmas by Sandra Dallas (St. Martin’s Press)

FINALIST: Agnes Canon’s War by Deborah Lincoln (Blank Slate Press)

FINALIST: Timber Rose by J. L. Oakley



WINNER: A Light in the Wilderness by Jane Kirkpatrick (Revel/Baker)

FINALIST: The Story Is The Thing by Amy Hale Auker (Pen-L Publishing)

FINALIST: Walls for the Wind by Alethea Williams (Whiskey Creek Press/Start Publishing)



WINNER: Diary of A Citizen Scientist by Sharman Apt Russell (Oregon State University Press)

FINALIST: Xylotheque by Yelizaveta P. Renfro (University of New Mexico Press)

FINALIST: Altitude Adjustment by Mary Beth Baptiste (Rowan & Littlefield)



WINNER: Quite Contrary: The Litigious Life of Mary Bennett Love by David J. Langum, Sr. (Texas Tech University Press)

FINALIST: Marymount College of Kansas: A History by Patricia Ackerman (The History Press)



WINNER: The Secret Life of Us Kids by Bonnie B. Maldonado (Far Country Press)

FINALIST: Souvenir by Aimee Suzara (Word Tech Communications)

FINALIST: Red Stain by Liza Porter (Finishing Line Press)



WINNER: Searching for Silver Heels by Jeannie Mobley (Simon & Schuster)

FINALIST: Red Berries, White Clouds, Blue Sky by Sandra Dallas (Sleeping Bear Press)

FINALIST: Oveta Culp Hobby: Colonel, Cabinet Member, Philanthropist by Debra Winegarten (The University of Texas Press)

View previous WILLA Literary Award Winners and Finalists here