Donate to the WILLA Fund WILLA AWARD INFOrmation

WWW will be seeking entries for the 2018 WILLA Literary Awards, honoring books published in 2017, following the October conference. The deadline for submission is February 1, 2018

To read the Guidelines for the 2018 WILLA, please go to "WILLA Guidelines and Application" in the left-side navigation bar. The entry period for the 2017 WILLA Awards is now closed.


Women Writing the West announces

2016 WILLA Literary Award Winners and Finalists

(Denver, Colorado) – Women Writing the West (WWW) is proud to announce the 2016 WILLA Literary Award competition Winners and Finalists, representing the best of 2015 published literature for women’s or girl’s stories set in the American West. WWW is the underwriter and annual presenter of this nationally recognized award.

Chosen by professional librarians, historians and university affiliated educators, the winning authors and their books were honored at the 22st Annual WWW Conference in Santa Fe, New Mexico on October 13 - 16, 2016.

WILLA Winners

2016 WILLA Winners

(left to right): Diane Glancy, Linda Lucretia Shuler, Lesley Poling-Kempes, K.S. Jones

WILLA Finalists

2016 WILLA Finalists
(Left to right): Susan Cummins Miller, Candace Simar, Deanna Dickenson McCall,, Anne Bustard, Stacy B. Schaefer, Susan Imhoff Bird, B.K. Froman

2016 WILLA Literary Awards

Contemporary Fiction

WINNER: Firebreak—Tricia Fields (Minetaur Books/St Martin’s Press)
FINALIST: Ana of California—Andi Teran (Penguin Random House)
FINALIST: Chasm—Susan Cummins Miller (Texas Tech Univ Press)

Original Softcover (Trade or Mass Market)

WINNER: Hidden Shadows—Linda Lucretia Shuler (Twilight Times Books)
FINALIST: Women and Thieves of Two Pan—B.K. Froman (Morning West Publishing)
FINALIST: Rough Patches—Deanna Dickenson McCall (The Frontier Project, INC)


WINNER: The Bookseller—Cynthia Swanson (HarperCollins)
FINALIST: The Last Midwife—Sandra Dallas (St. Martin’s Press)
FINALIST:t Shelterbelts—Candace Simar ( NorthStar Press)

Scholarly Nonfiction

WINNER: Ladies of the Canyons: A League of Extraordinary Women and Their Adventures in the American Southwest—Lesley Poling-Kempes (University of Arizona Press)
FINALIST: Shaping the Public Good: Women Making History in the Pacific Northwest—Sue Armitage (Oregon State University Press)
FINALIST: Amada’s Blessing from the Peyote Gardens of South Texas—Stacy B. Schaefer (University of New Mexico Press)

Creative Nonfiction

WINNER: American Ghost: A Families Haunted Past in the Desert Southwest —Hannah Nordhaus (Harper/Harper Collins)
FINALIST: HOWL of Woman and Wolf—Susan Imhoff Bird (Torrey House Press)
FINALIST: Mysteries of Love and Grief: Reflections of a Plainswoman’s Life—Sandra Scofield ( Texas Tech Univ Press)

Children’s/Young Adult Fiction & Nonfiction

WINNER: Shadow of the Hawk—K.S. Jones (Clean Reads)
FINALIST: Anywhere but Paradise—Anne Bustard (Egmont USA)
FINALIST: Teresa of the New World—Sharman Apt Russell (Yucca Publishing/Skyhouse Publishing)


WINNER: Report to the Department of the Interior—Diane Glancy (University of New Mexico Press)
FINALIST: Skeena—Sarah de Leeuw (Caitlin Press)


View previous WILLA Literary Award Winners and Finalists here