Donate to the WILLA Fund WILLA AWARD INFOrmation

WWW is seeking entries for the 2019 WILLA Literary Awards, honoring books published in 2018. The deadline for submission is February 1, 2019

To read the Guidelines for the 2019 WILLA, please go to "WILLA Guidelines and Application" in the left-side navigation bar.


Women Writing the West announces

2017 WILLA Literary Award Winners and Finalists

WILLA Winners

2017 WILLA Award WinnersFrom left, Julie Weston, Debra Clarke Moderow, Kierstin Bridger, Irene Sandell, Jennifer J. Lawrence and Nancy Bo Flood

WILLA Finalists

2017 WILLA Finalists

2017 WILLA Literary Awards

Winners and Finalists were honored and received their awards at the 23rd Annual Conference
October 26 – 28, 2017 in Tuscon, AZ.



Piano Tide by Kathleen Dean Moore (Winner)
Counterpoint Press

The Burning Hour by Jessica Barksdale Inclan
Urban Farmhouse Press

Hidden Star by Corinne Joy Brown
Friesen Press


Basque Moon by Julie Weston (Winner)
Five Star Publishing

Eliza Waite by Ashley Sweeney
She Writes Press

Magpie's Blanket by Kimberly D. Schmidt
University of New Mexico Press

Mercer Girls by Libbie Hawker
Lake Union Publishing



Beloved Over All by Irene Sandell
Double Mountain Press (Winner)

This Road We Traveled by Jane Kirkpatrick
Revell/Baker Publishing Group

The Canyon House by Janice Gilbertson
Pen-L Publishing


Fast into the Night by Debbie Moderow
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (Winner)

Seasons Silently Waiting by Eileen Mayer Thiel

Wilderness Fever by Linda Preston McKinstry
High Plains Press


Soap Suds Row by Jennifer J. Lawrence
High Plains Press (Winner)

The Queen of Heartbreak Trail by Eleanor Phillips Brackbill
Rowman & Littlefield

Finding Dorothy Scott by Sarah Byrn Rickman
Texas Tech University Press



Demimonde by Kierstin Bridger
Lithic Press (Winner)

Quiet, Except for the Wind by Carolyn Dufurrena
Quinn River Press

Burning in this Midnight Dream by Louise Bernice Halfe
Coteau Books


Soldier Sister, Fly Home by Nancy Bo Flood
Charlesbridge Publishing (Winner)

The Turn of the Tide by Rosanne Parry
Random House Children's Books

Sweet Home Alaska by Carole Estby Dagg
Nancy Paulsen Books/Penguin Random House


View previous WILLA Literary Award Winners and Finalists list on right